Mars Rover Perseverance Lands on Mars Today!!!!

Sky Gazing

Thursday, February 18, 2021

History in the making!!!!  And we can all witness this amazing event.

How:

Log on to www.nasa.gov/live before the scheduled landing at 3:55pm EST (12:55 PST).  (Coverage will begin at 2:15pm EST/11:15am PST)

Why:

After nearly seven months traveling to Mars, the Rover, Perseverance will land on the surface of Mars to search for signs of life.  But beyond that, this rover will also record sounds AND, with a tiny 4-pound, 4-foot diameter drone helicopter, explore the planet’s surface.  This sounds like an amazing device.  Not only is it capable of autonomous flight, but it will also be remotely operated from Earth.  Just imagine how much we will learn and witness!!!!

The Atlas V rocket carrying the Perseverance Rover took off at 7:50 am EDT on Thursday, July 30, 2020 from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station Launch Complex 41.

Check out the back story:

In the search box above, type in MARS2020 to view the 7/31/2020 blog post and photos of the Mars Rover Perseverance launch that rocketed into space on July 30, 2020.  It was an amazing sight!!!!

What a beautiful opportunity to witness history!!!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s